Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Degrees: University of Texas at Tyler : Master of Arts, Interdisciplinary Studies - English Baylor University : Bachelor of Arts, Business Administration Certifications:  Secondary (6-12) English and ESL

Ms. Wilder

Hello, everyone!

I’m the 6th grade English Language Arts (ELA) teacher, Michelle Wilder.

This is my first year at LPS, and I’m very excited to be here! I'm impressed by the degree of diversity here and emphasis on leadership and innovation.  When I was a 6th grader, I LOVED reading, so I'm super duper excited about sharing that love with our beautiful LPS 6th graders!

Not only am I new to LPS, but also I’m new to Frisco. I live with my little rescue dog, Belle. She is a “blend,”and I often call her AdoraBelle because she is :)  Prior to moving here, I lived most of my adult life in East Texas, which has resulted in my having a strong accent.  Prior to living in Kilgore, I went to college in Waco and grew up in Austin.  I do miss the charm of small town living, but I'm looking forward to experiencing city life again.

I'm a proud boy mom!  My son, William, graduated from Ole Miss in 2017 and works as a successful banker in Little Rock, Arkansas. He was a great kid and is becoming an admirable man.  I’m also very proud of my parents.  My mom is a competitive tennis player; my dad is a driven DIYer, and both are hospital volunteers. They live in a small lake community in East Texas and are the very definition of "goodness."

Interests and favorites: I’m a foodie and follow a vegetarian diet, love reading and learning, watching sports (Sic 'Em Bears!) and movies, listening to live music, visiting art museums, snow skiing, shopping, and traveling.

Wellness is one of my passions, and my expertise is in yoga.  As a certified yoga instructor, I've completed over 1000 hours of teaching and almost 500 hours of training, with a specialization in therapeutic yoga.  As a group yoga instructor and a personal well-being coach, I've worked with people with a wide variety of skill levels, interests, and goals.  I especially enjoy working with athletes and other performers.

Professionally, I've worked in a variety of fields. Education is my favorite!  In that area, I have over 20 years of experience.  I’ve worked in both instructional and administrative roles, with most of my work being in the classroom teaching English. It's the best! Through thinking, reading, and writing, we grow our awareness of ourselves, the world around us, and our interconnectedness. 

Tutoring schedule: Tuesdays 7:45-8:15 and 3:45-4:15, Thursdays 3:45-4:15